Nemesis

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Release date: 2019-01-24

Description

For readers of Robert Harris, C J Sansom and William Boyd, this is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat - by the Sunday Times bestseller and Crime Writer's Association award-winning author of Corpus and Nucleus, Rory Clements.Can a ruthless spy ring change the course of war? In a great English house, a young woman offers herself to one of the most powerful and influential figures in the land - but this is no ordinary seduction. She plans to ensure his death . . . On holiday in France, Professor Tom Wilde discovers his brilliant student Marcus Marfield, who disappeared two years earlier to join the International Brigades in Spain, in the Le Vernet concentration camp in the foothills of the Pyrenees. Wilde secures his release just as German tanks roll into Poland. Meanwhile, a U-boat sinks the liner Athenia in the Atlantic with many casualties, including Americans, onboard. Goebbels claims Churchill put a bomb in the ship to blame Germany and to lure America into the war. As the various strands of an international conspiracy begin to unwind, Tom Wilde will find himself in great personal danger. For just who is Marcus Marfield? And where does his loyalty lie? For readers of Robert Harris, C J Sansom and William Boyd, this is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat - by Sunday Times bestseller and author of Corpus and Nucleus, Rory Clements.'A masterpiece of spies, intrigue and political shenanigans' Sunday ExpressPraise for RORY CLEMENTS'A dramatic, twisty thriller' Daily Mail 'Dramatic . . . pacy and assured' Daily Mail 'Political polarisation, mistrust and simmering violence' The Times 'A standout historical novel and spy thriller' Daily Express'Enjoyable, bloody and brutish' Guardian'Sends a shiver down your spine' Daily Mail'A colourful history lesson . . . exciting narrative twists' Sunday Telegraph

Hide/show more

Additional Information

Genre: Historical fiction

Collection: Zaffre

Type: EPub

Pages: 400

ISBN: 9781785767517

Additional Information

Genre: Historical fiction

Collection: Zaffre

Type: EPub

Pages: 400

ISBN: 9781785767517

Other eBooks releases by Rory Clements
Loading... Please wait